The Club‎ > ‎Club Weekly Notes‎ > ‎

8th October 2012

posted 8 Oct 2012, 05:36 by Unknown user   [ updated 11 Oct 2012, 06:45 by Mark Evans ]
Under-14 Football County Championship Final (7th October 2012)
St James’ 4-12  Muintír Bhaire 3-8
High winds, a torrential downpour and a Muintír Bhaire side that came to Aughaville last Sunday as favourites were not enough to deter the under-14 footballers of St James’, who put in a superb effort to win for the club a first-ever county championship at this age level.

Playing with the wind, St James’ built up a five-point advantage by halftime (1-8 to 1-3), with James Taylor scoring 1-3, and points also coming from Seán O’Reilly (2), Jack Oates, Conor Frost and Seán White. In the second half, St James’ faced into the elements, but early scores from Seamus O’Sullivan (who put in an enormous shift in the middle of the park) and James Taylor increased the St James’ lead to seven points.

In defence, goalkeeper Pádraig O’Donovan, team captain Peter Whelton and Eoin Lombard consistently cleared their lines, whilst little got past Joseph O’Sullivan (a terrific reader of the ball who regularly outwitted Muintír Bhaire’s most dangerous of players), Conor Scully (another commanding performance), Frank Meaney (totally committed, as always) and Conor Hayes (an under-12 player well able for the task).

Two points for Muintír Bhaire were quickly answered by a Conor Frost goal, and more points for the Durrus team were annulled by goals scored by Seán O’Reilly and Jack Oates and points from Taylor and O’Reilly. Muintír Bhaire managed a late goal and two further points, but it was too late to change the outcome. St James’ were deserving winners, and lifted the trophy to the delight of parents and supporters.

Though they did not manage a run-out on the day, substitutes Ciarán Whelband, Fionn McPeake and Michael White were as much a part of the team as any player, and all credit to mentors Johnny Lawless, Dinny White and Aidan Whelton for the months of training that prepared the team for the win.

Panel: Pádraig O’Donovan, Conor Hayes, Jack Oates, Seán White, Frank Meaney, Seamus O'Sullivan, Conor Scully, Conor Frost, James Taylor, Seán O'Reilly, Joseph O’Sullivan, Peter Whelton, Eoin Lombard, Fionn McPeake, Ciarán Whelband, Michael White

Junior C Football Championship
(30th September 2012)
Kilmeen 1-14 St James' 1-8
St James' involvement in this year's junior C football championship came to an early conclusion as the junior B side failed to get the better of Kilmeen in last Saturday's game played in Ardfield. Kilbree's early lead was brought under control with points from Mark O'Brien, Kevin Kearns and Danny O'Connor together with an unexpected goal when a Shaun Goggin free caught Kilmeen on the hop. So it was all-square at halftime. However, Kilmeen got a goal not long into the second half, and pointed with enough regularity to pull away for the win, despite Damien Dooley's three points and a converted free by Shaun Goggin. On the bright side, the game saw the St James' debut of Colm Murphy, who proved a very useful addition to the defence.

Panel: Pa Keohane, Thomas Nyhan, Jonathan O’Donovan, Colm Murphy, Mark O’Brien (0-1), Shane Field, Seán Scully, Damian Dooley (0-3), Denis Fitzpatrick, Kevin Kearns (0-2), Brian O’Donovan, Danny O’Connor (0-1), Diarmuid Keohane, Shaun Goggin (1-1, 2f), Niall Evans, Jim Ahern, Pearse O'Sullivan