The Club‎ > ‎Club Weekly Notes‎ > ‎

AGM: 4th December 2011

posted 11 Dec 2011, 05:28 by Unknown user   [ updated 21 Feb 2012, 02:27 by Mark Evans ]
An eventful year for St James’ GAA was rounded off with the AGM, during which progress on and off the field of play was reviewed, and plans for the upcoming year put in place. Appreciation was expressed for outgoing chairperson Jimmy Butler’s energetic dedication to the club for the past three years, during which the sports hall was completed and development of a second pitch commenced.

Success in the U14 hurling championship was commended as an example of the potential and commitment evident in the club, and several present at the AGM expressed the view that St James’ must redouble its efforts in an era where the bar has been raised considerably by intense training and the will to win at each and every club.

In his report, club secretary Liam Evans said: ‘We are facing into a new period in the club’s history, having achieved junior A status in the past six years, built our sports hall and developed our pitches. For the coming years we need to concentrate on our teams and aim to bring a junior A title to the club.’

In his address to the AGM, Fr Pat McCarthy spoke of how the GAA stretches to every corner of a parish and of how success at a club gives a lift to the parish as a whole. He stressed the importance of people being willing to volunteer their time to sustain the club, and called on all supporters of the club to do their bit. Given the success of ridding tobacco from the public sphere in Ireland, Fr McCarthy asked the club to consider ways of combatting the culture of alcohol, especially where young people are concerned.

New officers were elected.
President | Michael Collins
Vice-presidents | John R O'Donovan, Liam White, Fachtna O’Callaghan, Pat Hayes
Patron | Fr. Pat McCarthy PP
Chairperson | Alec Butler
Vice-chairperson | Dan O'Connor
Secretary | Liam Evans | 086-6017283
Treasurer | Micheál McCarthy (Brittas)
Development Treasurer | Seamus McCarthy
Communications Officer | Dominic Carroll |
Registrar | Diarmuid O'Donovan
Development Officer | Jimmy Butler
Under-Age Secretary | Michael Kearns | 086-8190120
Medical Officer | Eileen Hayes
Substance Abuse Officer | Jonathan O' Donovan
Coaching Officer | Dominic Carroll
Gaelic and Cultural Officer | Billy Sheehan | 0238869131
Child Protection Officer | Helen Scully

Chairperson | Alec Butler
Vice-chairperson | Dan O'Connor
Secretary | Liam Evans
Treasurer | Micheál McCarthy (Brittas)
Registrar | Diarmuid O'Donovan
Additional executive members | Jimmy Butler, Pat Hayes, Dominic Carroll, Michael Kearns, Billy Sheehan, Jonathan O'Donovan, David O'Brien, Micheál McCarthy (D), Eoin Deasy, John Beamish, Denny White, Aidan Whelton, Paul O'Sullivan, Damian Dooley, Seamus McCarthy