The Club‎ > ‎Club Weekly Notes‎ > ‎

30th March 2012

posted 30 Mar 2012, 01:43 by Mark Evans   [ updated 30 Mar 2012, 01:43 ]
Junior A Football League (Ardfield, 25th March 2012)
St James’ 1-14 Urhan 0-4

The junior A footballers disposed of Urhan with ease in last Sunday’s league meeting in sunny but windswept Ardfield. In fairness to Urhan, their squad has come under pressure of late, and playing a match after a very long trip (nearly two hours) is never easy. Be that as it may, St James’ played a high-tempo game and kept up a consistent scoring rate throughout.

Tony Hayes claimed the lion’s share with 1-4, though Michael Santry must be credited with setting up the goal that Hayes simply had to help over the line. Kevin O’Leary scored three trademark points, scattering defenders as he powered through the lines, whilst Paul O’Sullivan was again on song, scoring from long range and from a free.

Mark Evans made the most of a following wind by pointing from distance, and added two more points to keep St James’ on top. Seamus McCarthy scored a superb point after receiving the final pass in a great move involving James O’Sullivan and Donnacha McCarthy, whilst James Hayes stepped up to score the final point of the day, this one from a free.

Substitute keeper Pa Keohane was called into action halfway through the match, and put in a good performance.

Panel: Diarmiad O’Donovan, Seán Scully, Tadhg Feen, Fergal Beamish, Brian O’Donovan, Seamus McCarthy (0-1), Kevin O’Brien, James O’Driscoll, Kevin O’Leary (0-3), Donnacha McCarthy, James Hayes (0-1), Tony Hayes (1-4), Michael Santry, Paul O’Sullivan (0-2), Mark Evans (0-3), Denis Fitzpatrick, Finbarr McCarthy, Pa Keohane, Danny O’Connor, Frankie Hayes, Connie Leahy, Micheál McCarthy (B).

U-16 Football League (Ardfield, 25th March 2012)
St James’ 8-13 Kilbrittain 1-5
The U16 footballers claimed their first league points of the season with the demolition of Kilbrittain. The half-time lead of 17 points was stretched to the final margin of 29. This squad of players, trained by Fachtna O’Connor and James O’Sullivan, is certainly full of promise.

Panel: Cian McPeake, Brian Lombard, Jack Hurley, Brandon Creagh, Seán O’Connor (1-3), Jack Oates, Joseph O’Sullivan, Peter Walsh, Kevin Horan (1-2), Jack Butler (2-3), Seán O’Reilly, Aaron Hayes (1-1), Conor Scully, James Taylor (1-2), Peter Whelton (2-1), Euan Courtney