The Club‎ > ‎Club Weekly Notes‎ > ‎

29th June 2012

posted 29 Jun 2012, 01:19 by Mark Evans   [ updated 29 Jun 2012, 04:11 ]
Junior A Football League (Ardfield, 23rd June 2012)
St James' 1-4
Tadhg MacCarthaigh 1-4

The junior-A footballers put the brakes on Caheragh’s winning streak last Saturday, drawing this league fixture in damp conditions and poor visibility. Before Saturday, Caheragh had won all seven of their league games, but a very determined St James’ held their ground in this high-intensity match. The dearth of scores for both sides was primarily due to tight marking and committed tackling, with St James’ coping well with the threat posed by Caheragh’s talented O’Driscoll brothers. St James’ were on the verge of victory when a final attack just before the final whistle resulted in an equalising goal for Caheragh and a share of the league points.

Panel: Pa Keohane, Fearghal Beamish, Micheal McCarthy (D), Micheal McCarthy (B), James O'Sullivan, James O'Driscoll, Seamus McCarthy, Kevin O'Brien, Sean Scully, Conor Hegarty (1-0), Donncha McCarthy, Kevin O'Leary (0-1), Tony Hayes, Paul O'Sullivan (0-2), Frank Hayes (0-1), Finbarr McCarthy, James Hayes, Mark Evans, Tadhg Feen, Eoin Feen, Shaun Goggin.

U-12 Hurling League (Rosscarbery, 23rd June 2012)
Carbery Rangers 4-5 St James' 4-1
The under-12 hurlers lost to Rosscarbery in the league on Saturday last. Both sides put on a good show of hurling, and the St James’ trainers were delighted with their players as at no time during the match did heads drop, as evidenced by late scores for St James’. Gary Lombard scored two goals, whilst brothers Christoir (still an under-10) and Conor Hayes capped fantastic games with a goal each. Fionn McPeake scored a nice point and played very well, Michael White did a good job in goal, Alison Taylor was superb in defence, Liam Crowley worked very hard, Niall O’Donovan showed great skill, Evan and Aoife O’Driscoll played with dedication, Lorraine Callanan was always busy, and Harry Oates was as good an outfield player as he usually is in goal.

Panel: Michael White, Alison Taylor, Niall O’Donovan, Harry Oates, Liam Crowley, Fionn McPeake (0-1), Conor Hayes (1-0), Christoir Hayes (1-0), Lorraine Callanan, Evan O’Driscoll, Gary Lombard (2-0), Aoife O’Driscoll.