The Club‎ > ‎Club Weekly Notes‎ > ‎

27th August 2012

posted 27 Aug 2012, 10:40 by Unknown user   [ updated 31 Aug 2012, 03:53 by Mark Evans ]
Under-21 Hurling Championship Final (Clonakilty, 24th August 2012)
St Marys' 4-15 St James' 2-10

St James’ could not get the better of St Mary’s in the U-21(B) hurling championship final, despite scoring a respectable 2-10. Half the St Mary’s team had played junior A this year, and this seemed to make the difference. Primary point scorer for St James’ was free-taker Kevin Kearns (0-6, 5 from frees), whilst the goals came from Michael Santry in the first half and James Hayes when the match was on the verge of ending. The players gave their all, and St James' can feel aggrieved at some of the refereeing (whilst acknowledging that referees do their best). Looking on the bright side, all but one of the team will be under-21 again next year, and no doubt the experience gained in this year’s championship will stand to them.

Panel: Niall Evans, Emmet Hayes, Eoin Feen, Seán Scully, Colin McCarthy (Kilmacabea), Cian Kavanagh, Tadhg Casey (0-1), Kevin Kearns (0-6), Joseph Collins (Kilmacabea) (0-1), Seán Goggin, Michael Santry (1-0), James Hayes (1-1), Danny O’Connor, John O’Sullivan (Kilmacabea) (0-1), Johnny Carroll, Colin O’Flynn, Thomas Nyhan, Dylan O’Sullivan.

Under-16 Football Championship (Dunmanway, 22nd August 2012)
St James’ 2-15 Ballingeary 1-8

Dunmanway was the venue for this first round of the under-16 football championship (which doubled as a league fixture), and St James’ gave a good illustration of what they can do. Though Ballingeary struggled throughout to keep up, the half-time lead of just two points for St James’ meant Ballingeary still had plenty to play for. Those first-half points for St James’ were scored by five different players: Seán O’Reilly (who makes a habit of being the first to score in a game), Aaron Hayes, Brian Lombard, Peter Walsh and Jack Butler.

A point by Seán O’Connor opened the second-half scoring, and Ballingeary quickly conceded three more points (Brian Lombard, Seán O’Reilly and Seán O’Connor) and a goal (Jack Butler with the assistance of Cian McPeake) before scoring a point in reply. Seán O’Connor’s accurate kicking added to their misery as he chalked up two more points, and though Ballingeary were to score another two points and a goal before the game ended, a second Jack Butler goal and points from Aaron Hayes and Peter Walsh presented them with a task well beyond their capacity. Peter Walsh’s final point – the score of the game – had the double effect of both increasing the lead and demoralising Ballingeary as he twisted, turned and battled his way through everything the opposition could muster before finding space to score. Ballingeary needed goals (plural), but the one (singular) they scored was not enough to alter the outcome as the St James’ defence crowded, harried and fought to hold them off until time ran out. In the next round, St James’ will play Mizen Rovers.

Panel: Adam Ahern, Brandon Creagh, Euan Courtney, Cian McPeake, Aaron Hayes (0-2), Brian Lombard (0-2), Peter Walsh (0-4), Kevin Horan, Seán O’Connor (0-4), Jack Butler (2-1), Seán O’Reilly (0-2), James Taylor, Ciarán O’Donovan, Conor Scully, Alan Butler, Joseph O’Sullivan, Peter Whelton

Under-16 Football League (Clonakilty, 19th August 2012)
Clonakilty 7-7 St James’ 4-11

This match was played a few days before championship, and was a useful warm-up for the one that mattered, with the result being filed under L for lessons learnt (see B for Ballingeary).

U-12 Football League (Ardfield, 14th August 2012)
Barryroe 10-12 St James' 8-7

The under-12 footballers acquitted themselves very well in a pulsating match against Barryroe just over a week ago. As Barryroe only turned up with ten players, St James’ fielded likewise. Both teams brewed up a storm, and clocked up eighteen goals and nineteen points between them. St James' got off to the brighter start, with Conor Hayes rounding of great inter-passing amongst the forwards and finishing exquisitely with three fine goals, whilst Niall O'Donovan also scored a great goal with a well-struck shot. Harry Oates was superb between the posts, limiting the visitors to just two goals in the first half. Michael White, Lorraine Callanan, Clodagh Walsh, Pádraig O'Donovan and Cristeoir Hayes made up a resolute defence. James Hodnett was busy in the foward play and helped in the creation of points by Fionn McPeake, Pádraig O'Donovan and Evan O'Driscoll, thus ensuring St James' led at half-time.

Conor Hayes got the second half underway with another superb goal, and this act was repeated by Niall O'Donovan. However, Barryroe decided to take the same route, replying with a brace of goals. After trading a brace of points, Cristeor Hayes scored an excellent long-range goal that increased St James’ lead to four points. Barryroe decided to follow suit, and fired in two goals in quick succession to take a two-point advantage. Conor Hayes added another goal, but Barryroe cancelled this out with one of their own and followed up with another.

Several goalmouth scrambles at both ends of the pitch led to a point for Fionn McPeake and a score for Barryroe. St James' were unlucky with their final few scoring opportunities, whilst Barryroe fired a final salvo of two goals in the last two minutes to ensure the win.

Every St James' player gave their all and ran themselves into the ground. They battled for every ball, and given some luck could easily have edged this one. Overall, this was a fine team performance. [CMcP]

Panel: Harry Oates, Michael White, Lorraine Callanan, Clodagh Walsh, Pádraig O'Donovan (0-2), Cristeoir Hayes (1-0), Fionn McPeake (0-2), Conor Hayes (5-0), Niall O'Donovan (2-0), Evan O'Driscoll (0-3), James Hodnett.

U-10 Hurling Blitz (Clonakilty, 25th August 2012)
The under-10 hurlers took part in a very-well organised blitz in Clonakilty, during which each participating team played three matches (with St James' winning all three of their matches). Every player had great fun, and all enjoyed pulling on the club jersey and doing their best for St James’.

Panel: Aiesha Hurley, Ella O’Donoghue, Adrian Whelton, Christoir Hayes, Cian Hurley, Ben McShane, John O’Donovan, Sean Lawless, Adam O’Shaughnessy, Evan O'Driscoll