The Club‎ > ‎Club Weekly Notes‎ > ‎

24th June 2011

posted 24 Jun 2011, 02:34 by Unknown user   [ updated 24 Jun 2011, 02:50 by Mark Evans ]
Junior A Footballer Championship: Saturday 25th June 8pm Castlehaven
The junior A footballers will meet Gabriel Rangers in championship this Saturday at 8pm in Castlehaven. A good win over Ilen Rovers in a challenge match last Sunday (St James’ 5-15 Ilen Rovers 2-9) was perfect preparation for what will be a tough challenge. Supporters are urged to come out in force.

Junior B Football League (played in Rossmore)
St James’ 3-14 Kilmeen 4-9
St James’ junior B footballers pulled off an impressive win in last Saturday’s league fixture against a fine Kilmeen side. An average of one score every two minutes says much about the commitment and energy of both sides. Though St James’ held the lead for most of the match, Kilmeen pulled ahead by a point in the last quarter of the game, and it was then that the character of this St James’ side became apparent as they made a determined effort to regain and hold the lead until the final whistle.

Chief scorer for St James’, with seven points, was the unshakable Ian Evans, who somehow always finds that extra nanosecond to compose himself before taking his points with whichever foot is convenient, right or left. Niall Barrett’s typically high-energy game was rewarded with scores, including a superb long-range point. Conor Hegarty led the way up front with scores of his own and accurate passing that enabled others to get on the score sheet, including Tadhg Casey, whose point and goal were both made possible by pinpoint passes from Hego. James Hayes added to the St James’ tally with a couple of points and a goal from an unstoppable penalty kick.
In midfield, Garrett Lombard and Donnacha McCarthy succeeded in snuffing out a succession of Kilmeen forward moves, whilst the St James’ back lines came into their own during the second half as Kilmeen began to threaten. The experienced defenders – Andrew O’Leary, Finbarr McCarthy, Denis Fitzpatrick, Connie Leahy and Jonathan O’Donovan – were calm under pressure, and their example no doubt helped up-and-coming defenders to hold their nerve.

Team: Pa Keohane, Andrew O’Leary, Eoin Feen, Thomas Nyhan, Connie Leahy, Denis Fitzpatrick, Peter Barrett, Garrett Lombard 0-1, Donnacha McCarthy, Tadhg Casey 1-1, Ian Evans 0-7, Niall Barrett 0-2, Niall Evans, Conor Hegarty 1-1, James Hayes 1-2. Subs: Finbarr McCarthy, John Santry, Jonathan O’Donovan

Under-14 Hurling Championship (played in Rossmore)
St James’ 4-18 Tadhg MacCarthaigh's 0-1 
The under-14 hurlers progressed to the semi-finals of the championship with an emphatic win over Tadhg MacCarthaigh’s. The scoreline suggests a walkover, but St James’ had to work tirelessly to get their scores, and made every shot count. A point and a superb goal on the volley by Seán O’Reilly together with points from Jack Oates (3), James Taylor (3) and one of the club’s most promising young players, Seán White (2), gave St James’ a half-time lead of 1-9 (Caheragh not having scored).

In the second half, Jack Oates hit the back of the net, whilst two more goals by Seán O’Reilly secured his hat-trick. Points again came from Jack Oates, Seán O’Reilly and James Taylor, and one for luck from the impressive Joseph O’Sullivan. Though Caheragh scored their only point deep into the second half, they came close on several other occasions to making the breakthrough but met fierce resistance from a St James’ back line that put body and hurley in front of everything the opposition threw at it. Caheragh would have had goals, too, but for the great keeping of Peter Whelton. All in all, a great win by a superb team.

Panel: Peter Whelton, Conor Scully, Peter Walsh, Alan Butler, Cian McPeake, Eoin Lombard, James Taylor 0-8, Jack Oates 1-5, Joseph O’Sullivan 0-1, Seán O’Reilly 3-2, Seán White 0-2, Ciaran Whelband, Daniel O’Driscoll

Under-10/Under-8 Football
The youngest boys and girls of St James’ and Timoleague provided top-class entertainment last Saturday morning in Ardfield, with some fine football being played by both teams. It was very encouraging to see the new crop of players emerging and displaying all the skills of the game. 

Panel: Michael White, Niall O’Donovan, Harry Oates, Rory O’Connor, John O’Donovan, Aaron O’Donovan, Cameron Whelton, Evan O’Driscoll, Eva Barry, Sinéad O’Connor, Liam Crowley, Conor Hayes, Fionn McPeake, Liam Barry, Christeoir Hayes, James Hodnett, Seán Lawless, Artane Brace, Declan McPeake, Sinéad O’Donovan, Denis White