The Club‎ > ‎Club Weekly Notes‎ > ‎

23rd July 2012

posted 23 Jul 2012, 09:05 by Unknown user   [ updated 23 Jul 2012, 09:07 by Mark Evans ]
Junior A Football Championship (Rosscarbery, 20th July 2012)
Castlehaven 0-14 St James’ 1-9

St James’ exited the junior A football championship after failing to overcome Castlehaven in Rosscarbery last Friday. Despite St James’ having held the lead for a great deal of the match, the Haven clinched the win by two points.

A goal early in the game by Mark Evans at the end of a brilliant piece of individual play established a good foundation for St James’ to build upon, but with both sides employing the blanket defence, any kind of a score was hard to come by. The fact that Castlehaven gathered three of their first-half total of six from frees illustrates just how crowded the attack zones were, with St James’ pointing just four times.

The game opened up in the second half, with Castlehaven having to level the game four times – again depending heavily on frees – but this extended period of tit-for-tat scoring ceased when Castlehaven pointed three times in a row late in the game, and though St James’ earned a point from their last-minute assault on the Castlehaven goal, the final whistle signalled the end of St James’ involvement in the championship.

Team: Finbarr McCarthy, Kevin O’Leary, Micheál McCarthy (D), Ferghal Beamish, James O’Sullivan, James O’Driscoll, Seamus McCarthy, Donnacha McCarthy (0-1), Kevin O’Brien (0-1), Conor Hegarty (0-1), Kieran O’Donovan (0-1), Micheál McCarthy (B) (0-1), Paul O’Sullivan (0-1), Mark Evans (1-1), Frank Hayes (0-1); (subs on): Tony Hayes (0-1), James Hayes, David Hayes.

Minor Hurling Championship (Ballinascarthy, 22nd July 2012)
Argideen Rangers 1-11 St James’ 1-10
In the minor hurling championship, St James’ put in a tremendous effort against Argideen Rangers, and were sorely disappointed to lose by a single point. A battling performance by the defence and great work by the keeper Adam Ahern kept the match at boiling point throughout. Scores for St James’ came from Tadhg Casey (0-6), Aaron Hayes (1-2) and Shaun Goggin (0-2), whilst Timoleague sought out Finbarr Butler (1-10) for all but one of their scores. The teams drew level with one another five times, and Aaron Hayes’ late goal suggested a draw was possible. As ever, Father Time would not wait, but St James’, though defeated, headed home with heads held high.

Panel: Adam Ahern, Seán O’Connor, Seán Scully, Peter Walsh, Cian McPeake, Niall Evans, Kevin Horan, Aaron Hayes (1-2), Tadhg Casey (0-6), Dylan O’Sullivan, Shaun Goggin (0-1), Brandon Creagh, Ciarán O’Donovan, Ruairc Courtney.

Under-16 Football League (Ballydehob, 17th July 2012)
St James' 4-4 Gabriel Rangers 1-4
Though there is no report available for this match, the win was undoubtedly a good one, not least because this was an away game.

Under-14 Hurling Championship Final (Leap, 15th July 2012)
St James' 5-13 Ilen Rovers 6-5
The under-14 hurlers of St James’ stormed to victory in the championship (D) final, beating Ilen Rovers by five points in a thrilling match. Ilen Rovers got off to a great start, building up an eight-point lead within ten minutes, but points from James Taylor and a Seán O’Reilly goal brought St James’ back into the game, so that by half-time the Rovers lead had been reduced to just a point (Ilen Rovers 3-5 St James’ 2-7). Rovers began the second half in determined fashion, but two great saves in a row by replacement St James’ keeper Eoin Lombard kept St James’ in contention, and a magnificent Daniel O’Driscoll goal gave St James’ the lead. Though Rovers scored three goals in the second half, they failed to gather points, whereas St James’ scored 3-6 for the half, pulling away towards the end of the game with four unanswered points for a five-point victory. Man of the match James Taylor scored 2-12 for St James’, his scoring opportunities very much the product of a great performance by the entire St James’ team.

Panel: Eoin Lombard, Pádraig O’Donovan, Seán White, Conor Hayes, Conor Scully, Joseph O’Sullivan, Jack Oates (0-1), Fionn McPeake, James Taylor (2-12, 6 frees), Ciarán Whelband, Daniel O’Driscoll (1-0), Seán O’Reilly (2-0), Michael White, Frank Meaney.

Click here to view photos:
With thanks to Simon Whelband