The Club‎ > ‎Club Weekly Notes‎ > ‎

20th May 2011

posted 20 May 2011, 02:26 by Unknown user   [ updated 26 May 2011, 11:12 by Mark Evans ]
Under-14 Football (played in Bantry)

St James' 4-14 Bantry 2-13

In a quiet week for St James’, the only competitive games were at under-age. The under-14 footballers travelled to Bantry for a midweek league fixture, and came away with the win. Led by their new captain Peter Walsh, the team produced some excellent passages of play in this their first outing of the season. A goal from Jack Oates together with a decent points haul enabled St James’ to go in at the break with a lead of 1-8 to 0-6. On resumption, a penalty goal gave Bantry hope, but St James’ replied with a second and unstoppable Jack Oates goal. Good work by the defenders kept Bantry at bay, whilst a superb tally of a goal and five points from Joseph O’Sullivan was added to Peter Whelton’s goal and the points scored by Seán O’Reilly, Cian McPeake, James Taylor and Jack Oates to put the game beyond the hosts.

Panel: Seamus O’Sullivan, Ciarán Whelband, Conor Frost, Eoin Lombard, Alan Butler, Conor Scully, Cian McPeake 0-3, Peter Walsh, Peter Whelton 1-0, Seán O’Reilly 0-2, James Taylor 0-3, Jack Oates 2-1, Frank Meaney, Joseph O’Sullivan 1-5, Michael O’Mahoney

Under-10/Under-8 Football (played in Ballydehob)

The under-10 and under-8 footballers met Gabriel Rangers in the blitz-style format introduced this year in place of the league. Though laudable, it presents something of a challenge to smaller clubs, where numbers are low, especially when meeting opposition with twice as many players waiting to get on the field, as was the case in Ballydehob. Nevertheless, the Ardfield/Rathbarry contingent enjoyed the day out, and even though league points are no longer to be played for, this did not stop the players giving it their all and noticeably improving as the games progressed.

Under-10: Michael White, Conor Hayes, Liam Barry, Liam Crowley, Harry Oates, James Hodnett, Christoir Hayes.

Under-8: Euan Whelband, Artane Brace, Seán Lawless, John O’Donovan, Aaron O’Donovan, Denis White, Cameron Whelton, Adam O’Shaugnessy.