The Club‎ > ‎Club Weekly Notes‎ > ‎

1st September 2011

posted 1 Sep 2011, 01:03 by Unknown user   [ updated 1 Sep 2011, 01:04 by Mark Evans ]
Junior C Football Championship (played in Leap)
O’Donovan Rossa 2-11 St James’ 1-5
The high hopes of St James’ were dashed twice on the same night last Friday when the junior B footballers and the U16 hurlers both stumbled at the last hurdle. In Leap, the junior B footballers – playing in the C championship – could not quite pull off the success that seemed within reach just a couple of weeks ago. The unexpected loss of key personnel was a blow, and the challenge presented by a very strong O’Donovan Rossa team proved insurmountable. St James’ did manage to keep Rossa’s within sight for the first half, but overall St James’ did not score anything like enough to be in with a chance. The late introduction of Alan Tobin and Diarmuid Keohane paid off in that both grabbed a point, but it was too late to save St James’.

Panel: Brian O’Donovan, Eoin Feen, Jonathan O’Donovan, Thomas Nyhan, Peter Barrett, Denis Fitzpatrick, John Santry, Connie Leahy, Garrett Lombard, Michael Santry, Niall Evans, Conor Hegarty, Niall Barrett, James Hayes 1-2 (2 f), Kevin Kearns, Tadhg Casey 0-1, Shane O’Connell, Andrew O’Leary, Diarmuid Keohane 0-1, Alan Tobin 0-1

U-16 Hurling Championship (played in Dunmanway)
St Colm’s 6-6 St James’ 0-8
The U16 hurlers put up a good fight but were overwhelmed in the championship final by St Colm’s. Though St James kept in touch until half time and were to record a final points tally higher than Colm’s, the Kealkill lads drove for goal repeatedly and very successfully.

Panel: Peter Walsh, Adam Ahern, Brandon Creagh, Seán O’Connor, Aaron Hayes, Cian McPeake, Shaun Goggin 0-6, Brian Lombard, Kevin Horan, James Taylor 0-2, Dylan Twomey-O’Sullivan, Seán O’Reilly, Conor Scully, Ciarán O’Donovan, Alan Butler, Jack Oates

Junior A Hurling League (played in Ardfield)
St James’ 4-16 Kilbrittain 3-16
The junior A hurlers resumed their league campaign with a home win against Kilbrittain, during which the teams scored a joint total of thirty-nine times. Though Kilbrittain were kept at a tantalising distance of just a few points for most of the match and were prevented from taking the lead at any time, the tit-for-tat scoring kept everyone on their toes right to the final whistle. The scores for St James’ came from nine different players, foremost among them being Michael Santry (2-1), Kevin Kearns (1-3), Garrett Lombard (1-2) and Joseph Collins (0-4). The game provided a useful opportunity to test several U21 players in advance of championship, and the results of the experiment were very encouraging. 

Team: Niall Evans, Danny O’Connor, Mark O’Brien, Thomas Nyhan, James O’Driscoll 0-1, James O’Sullivan, Pa Keohane, Kevin O’Brien, Joseph Collins 0-4, Kevin Kearns 1-3 (2 f), Garrett Lombard 1-2, Ian Evans 0-2, Damian Dooley 0-1, Michael Santry 2-1, Conor Hegarty 0-1, Donnacha McCarthy, Diarmuid O’Donovan, Johnny Carroll, Paul O’Sullivan 0-1